Plant or Revitalize? — Why I would like to Encourage Young Pastors to Consider the Exisiting Church

One of the growing trends that I see among young men entering the ministry is the desire to plant new churches rather than Pastor existing, established churches.  The reasons for this are rather simple.  Many young guys simply do want to deal with the hassles and difficulties of steering a church back towards health and gospel centeredness, as one young man told me, “Why try to fix what is broken when I can just start brand new.”  Young Pastors also know that it is far easier to start an evangelistic minded church than it is to lead an existing church to recapture their zeal.  Many young men have simply become disenchanted with the unwillingness of existing churches to engage their culture and adapt their methods.  They find that it is easier just to start fresh.  Finally, I do believe that some young men are drawn to church planting simply because it is considered the glamorous thing to do or they think they can become the next evangelical superstar.  My advice to this last group is to rethink whether or not they have been called to the ministry.  The bottom line is that if you are not willing to labor in obscurity you are not fit or ready for a larger ministry.  With that said, I would like to give a few reasons why I think more young Bible college students and seminarians should consider taking on the challenge of revitalizing existing churches:

  1. Jesus died for existing churches, owns them, and loves them– we hear a lot of criticism about churches and church members today but what we often forget in this mix is that Jesus loves these churches and so should we.  Sometimes I listen to Pastors and church leaders who seem to relish in pointing out the warts and flaws in the church.  Among young pastors especially there sometimes seems to be an arrogance and smug attitude about the problems in the established churches.  Let me remind you that while she might have some blemishes and may at times show her age a little, the church is the bride of Christ, therefore, we should all be careful about how we treat her.
  2. Exisiting churches have resources that can be used to build the Kingdom– Obviously, existing churches have material and financial resources that new church plants don’t always have but I have more in mind here than building and bank accounts.  Existing churches have men and women with years of experience in church work and the community.  This often goes unnoticed by new Pastors but the collective experience of the people in the church are some of the greatest resources for spreading the gospel.  The key here is to reengage their creativity and energy into carrying out the mission of the gospel.  The challenge is that sometimes in an existing church this can take awhile and requires patience and humility on the part of the Pastor.
  3. Exisiting churches are needed to help start new churches- the work of the Kingdom is not just starting new churches nor is it just about revitalizing existing churches.  It is both!  We need exisiting churches to be revitalized and to recapture their desire to spread the gospel through evangelism and church planting.  Often it is good to think of revitalizing a church as a replanting it because in many ways that is that it is.  But part of every revitalization project must be the focus on fulfilling Acts 1:8 by planting new churches.  In my experience at First Baptist Church, Metropolis I’ve become convinced that one of the ways to revitalize a church is to lead them to get involved in church planting.  Here we started by simply becoming a secondary partner with a church plant.  We took on the role of simply investing part of our budget in the work and sending a couple of teams a year to help, but this quickly grew and became part of the DNA of our church.  Now we are involved in a church planting partnership in Haiti and Chicago but in addition we have experienced a revitalization within our church that has been amazing to watch.

There are several more thoughts running around in my mind about this subject but that is enough for right now.  Next week, I am going  to try to put some ideas out about the things Pastors need to do in order to lead a revitalization process.

3 thoughts on “Plant or Revitalize? — Why I would like to Encourage Young Pastors to Consider the Exisiting Church

  1. Great thoughts. Thanks for sharing. I’m a part of a 5 year old church plant and so would love to add to your thoughts. I think most pastors out of seminary should consider being a part of a traditional church. I think the number of leaders called to plant a church is much smaller that we might think. A successful church planter is a strange breed. If you want to plant a church because it’s exciting or seems easier than leading a traditional church, then you’re sorely mistaken.

    Now, having said that, I also think pastors leaving Seminary should be very choosy about where they work. I’ve seen a few pastor friends give everything they had to an aging church, only to be spit out defeated because a lack of desire to change. I’m not saying every church is like that, but it’s something to be careful abut.

    When I finished up a church internship and began looking for a pastoral job, most of the “established” churches didn’t give my resume a second look. They mostly cared about degrees, pedigree, and experience. I did have some experience and a bunch of degrees, but didn’t even get a second look. I wonder how many established churches miss staffing jewels out there because they’re looking for the wrong type of person. I’ve had a blast being a part of a church plant over the past 5 years, but it’s definitely one of the hardest things I’ve ever done.

    In response to the heart of your article, I would like to say the first question is a person needs to consider is not, “Should I work for a traditional church or plant my own”? The first question should be, “Am I called/equipped to plant a church”? I would contend most are not. Once you answer no, then find the best possible church to work for and there’s a lot out there. And then, help the church understand the value of church planting and give towards it!

  2. Pastor,
    I was wanting help with a question. I finished my degree from Liberty University and desire to preach. I’m troubled with the passage in 1 Tim 3 stating an elder must be the husband of one wife. I’m understanding this to mean never having been divorced. I have been divorced. My ex acussed me of cheating on her (which I am innocent of this). She divorced me and 13 years later I remarried. Am I qualified to be a pastor?
    Sincerely
    Ted

Leave a Reply

