God is Eternal

ImageOn Thursday’s I like to dedicate the blog to a discussion of theological issues.  Over the next four Thursday’s I want to share with you the four fundamental attributes of God, which form our understanding of the gospel.  We will begin our discussion by looking at what is perhaps the most basic attribute of God— His eternity.   We encounter it in the very first verse of the Bible, “In the beginning, God created the heavens and the earth.” (Genesis 1:1)

 

This verse reveals God’s enormous power and intelligence but it also raises an Imageimportant question—If God existed before the universe, where did He come from?  In the first church I served as pastor there was a little girl named Kristen who came up one morning before Sunday school and asked, “Pastor, where did God come from?”  Being a young pastor with no children of my own at the time, I replied, “God is eternal.  He always has been and He always will be.” Later that same morning, while walking down the hall to the worship center, her Sunday school teacher grabbed me and said, “Pastor, you will never believe what Kristen asked me in Sunday School this morning.”  I was intrigued so I stopped and listened as Shirley told me, ”She asked me where God came from so I told her that God has no beginning; He has always existed.”  Then she added, “So Kristen looked right at me and said, ‘Don’t worry Miss Shirley, the preacher didn’t know either.’”  That’s probably how many people feel when they encounter the truth that God is eternal.  But honestly, we can’t put it much plainer or make it simpler.  We simply must take what the Bible says to be true and accept it by faith.

As human beings we are trapped in a temporal existence and find it difficult to understand how God can be completely unbound by the passing of time.   Even though the eternal nature of God may be difficult to comprehend, believers throughout the ages have found this particular aspect of God to be a source of comfort and hope. God is not limited by the constraints of time and is not moved by the winds of change.  God is able to see the entire span of our lives from the vantage point of eternity.  Therefore, nothing escapes His knowledge nor takes Him by surprise.  This is what the Psalmist had in mind when he wrote, “My frame was not hidden from You, when I was made in secret, and skillfully wrought in the lowest parts of the earth.  Your eyes saw my substance, being yet unformed.  And in Your book they all were written, the days fashioned for me, when as yet there were none of them.” (Psalm 139:15-16)

“Before the mountains were brought forth, or ever you had formed the earth, and the world, from everlasting to everlasting you are God.” Psalm 90:2

 

In what ways does the eternal nature of God give you comfort?

Share your thoughts by replying to this post.

2 thoughts on “God is Eternal

Leave a Reply

